vendredi 23 mars 2012

John Addison - Torn Curtain (1966)

EM/f.PC/LP 0002
Real. Alfred Hitchcock
Mus. John Addison

LP Decca Records  VIM-7203Stereo (JAP), Ed. 1976

Side 1. 
1. Main Title from Torn Curtain (2:15) 
2. The Love Theme from Torn Curtain (3:02) 
3. Behind The Curtain (2:16) 
4. Introduction to Pi (2:17) 
5. Premonitions of Trouble (3:20) 
6. Variations on the Love Theme from Torn Curtain (1:16)

Side 2. 
1. Pi Bus Theme Variations (1:18) 
2. Sarah Alone (1:30) 
3. The Murder of Gromek (2:40) 
4. Michael and Sarah – Alone On The Hill (1:21) 
5. Escape On The Pi Bus (4:03) 
6. End Title including The Love Theme from Torn Curtain 
    (Jay Livingston – Ray Evans) (3:57) Int. The Johnny Mann Singers

Notes Back Cover
In the motion picture industry, Alfred Hitchcock's name is legend. The legend carries with it the reputation of genius, of the ability to pay attention to detail, and of an exactitude required of the participants in his movie kingdom that is unparalleled by any other producer-director. Small wonder that Mr.Hitchcock should be particularly careful in his choice of composer for this latest chiller, TORN CURTAIN.
John Addison is that superlative choice, a man whose credentials for the job are most impressive. Addison was born in Surrey, England, educated at Wellington College of Music in London, where, as a student, he won his first major award for composition. He served in World War II as a captain with the 23rd Hussar Tank Regiment in France and Germany, was wounded at Caen, and returned to civilian life and his music. In 1950, a chamber work (a sextet for woodwinds) was performed at the International Society for Contemporary Music Festival at Frankfurt, Germany, and later, works were commissioned by BBC London and various societies for the Promenade Concerts and Cheltenham Festivals, among other events. His ballet, Carte Blanche, was commissioned by Sadlers Wells Royal Ballet. Other credits include a musical revue, Cranks, iver fifty film scores, including Tony Richardson's A Taste Of Honey, Girl With The Green Eyes, and Tom Jones (which won an Academy Award "Oscar" in 1964 for Addison), and currently, The Loved One and A Fine Madness. His scores for the theater have accented vitally successful plays, like Osborne's The Entertainer and Luther, Arden's The Worhouse Donkey, Ionesco's The Chairs, Brecht's St. Joan Of The Stockyards, and Lawrence Olivier's production of Hamlet, which opened the National Thatre in London. Addison has also written numerous scores for TV Specials, this year's entry being CBS's The Search For Ulysses.
When John Addison was asked how he felt about working with Hitchcock, he said: "As a person, you are face to face with this legend, which is at first over-awing, but when you spend a bit of time with him, he is fascinating, and there is nothing he doesn't know about film-making. Hitchcock is a magnetic man, extraordinarily courteous, highly civilized.
"This is not the sort of thing one comes across in this industry all the time ! He has an extraordinary capicity to convey the exact effect he desires from music, and his way of using it is one with which I am very much in sympathy. Unlike many movie makers, he only uses music where it has a definite and precise job to do. Mr.Hitchcock considers music and sound effects as media for heightening the drama, so when music will do this best he doesn't clutter it with sound effects - and vice versa."
Throughout the preparation of the score, the two men worked very closely together. On one occasion, when Mr. Hitchcock was in London, England, John Addison put through an hour-long transoceanic call from Universal City in California to play, on the piano, some of the thematic material he had written. The score itself is a reflection of John's inherent musicality, good taste and beautiful melodic sense, which he sustains unfailingly throughout the picture.
This newest Hitchcock cinematic coup star Julie Andrews of musical fame in a new, dramatic-suspense role, and Paul Newman as a vigorous, scientist hero. Backgrounded against a country of Middle Europe, it is a spine-tingling account of two young Americans struggling to survive in an unfriendly country.
As you listen to this album you will enjoy, through John Addison's music, a dramatic recreation of the suspense-packed story of Alfred Hitchcock's TORN CURTAIN.

-Margaret Linn   

Aucun commentaire: